How to Watch the 2019 Boston Marathon

On Monday, April 15, some 30,000 Boston Marathon participants will gather at the start of the iconic race, envisioning the moment they cross the finish line on Boylston Street 26.2 miles later. (Fingers crossed they’ll get nicer weather than last year.) 

On the womens side, reigning champion Desiree Linden, who last year became the first American woman to win the race in 33 years, will return to the course alongside fellow American Jordan Hasay. At Boston in 2017, Hasay ran the fastest-ever marathon debut by an American woman, and a few months later, in Chicago, she clocked the second-fastest marathon time ever run by an American woman. Injuries plagued Hasay in 2018, so running fans have eagerly awaited her return to the distance. For the international women, 2017 Boston champion Edna Kiplagat and 2015 winner Caroline Rotich, both of Kenya, are among the names to watch. 

In the men’s race, Americans Dathan Ritzenhein and Jared Ward will be vying for the top U.S. spot, while the winner of last years race, Yuki Kawauchi of Japan, will join the international field. 

If you cant catch the action in person, here’s how to tune in online or on TV. 


National television audiences can watch live on the NBC Sports Network or stream online via the NBC Sports website, free with a cable subscription. Locals have more options and can turn to CBS Boston’s WBZ-TV or stream from the channel’s website, which also requires a cable subscription. There’s a broad collection of providers for international viewers. A full list of options is available here


Start times*:

  • 9:02 A.M: Push-rim wheelchairs and other adaptive racers 
  • 9:32 A.M: Elite women
  • 10:00 A.M: Elite men
  • 10:02 A.M: Amateur runners, wave one 
  • 10:25 A.M: Amateur runners, wave two
  • 10:50 A.M: Amateur runners, wave three
  • 11:15 A.M: Amateur runners, wave four

(*All Eastern Standard Time)

Outside Magazine: Fitness

Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *